About Us

What is LAWMAC?

The Local Authority Waste Management Advisory Committee (LAWMAC) is an organisation of 30 North Queensland Local Government Councils and 24 Associate Members dedicated to best practice waste management aiming to provide sustainable solutions through its regional forum and interactive participation across the LAWMAC region on current and future Waste Management Practices and Technologies.

LAWMAC is a 'not for profit' group comprising members from the North Queensland Local Government area from Cook Shire in the north to Gladstone in the south and extending inland to Mount Isa, Burke and Cloncurry shires.

LAWMAC General Meetings are held quarterly with the Annual General Meeting scheduled asap after the end of each financial year plus a Waste Management Conference also held Bi- Annually.

Officers of the Northern Alliance of Councils, Local Government Association of Queensland, Department of Environment & Science Qld, Queensland Health, Waste Industry Groups and Waste Management related representatives are encouraged to attend meetings and provide input and information, but are not entitled to vote.

Association membership is available to members of Industry, Commerce, State Agencies and other non-government organisations, but will also be without entitlement to vote at meetings.


Led by then Cr Ross Overton (Johnstone Shire Council – now part of Cassowary Coast Regional Council) key meetings across the councils of North Queensland were convened to advocate the need for a regional approach to waste management and waste minimisation.

The Waste Management problems faced by councils across North Queensland was the basis for the development of a paper presented to the (then) North Queensland Local Government Association (NQLGA) Conference in Cooktown in May 1993.

The Paper received unanimous support from NQLGA to convene a Waste Summit to plan a regional local government assault on waste. The Waste Summit was held in Townsville on 25th June 1993.

The principle outcome of the Waste Summit was the formation of a Working Group by the name of the "Joint Local Authorities Waste Management and Minimisation Working Group" (JLAWMAMWG)!

The second Regional Waste Summit was held in Mission Beach on 30th July 1993 and chaired by Cr Overton. Townsville and Cairns Councils were requested to take the lead and coordinate the formation of "Northern & Far Northern Waste Working Groups" (NAFNWWG / JLAWMAMWG)!!

At the NQLGA Conference held November 1993 in Mulgrave Shire (now part of Cairns City Council region) JLAWMAMWG was endorsed as a sub-committee of the Association. After much debate the JLAWMAMWG fortunately also became the Local Authority Waste Management Advisory Committee (LAWMAC).